Trip Types
  • Travel Style
  • Interests and Activities
  • Tour Ideas by Month
  • Continents and Regions
Send a trip inquiry to this agency Gunnar’s team speaks English and specializes in tailor-made tours.

Gunnar’s agency Your local agency for road trips and adventure travel in Iceland

440 reviews
  • Specializes in Classic Trips
  • Specializes in Luxury Trips
  • Specializes in Family Trips
  • Specializes in Road Trips
Our agency is a father/son creation that has over 30 years experience organizing authentic, tailor-made tours in the 'Land of Ice and Fire'. We aim to create lasting memories for visitors to our beautiful country. Our dedicated local travel experts have explored every inch of Iceland, slept at each of the hotels we offer, and experienced all the activities we organize, so you can be sure to get an... Our agency is a father/son creation that has over 30 years experience organizing authentic, tailor-made tours in the 'Land of Ice and Fire'. We aim to create lasting memories for visitors to our beautiful country. Our dedicated local travel experts have explored every inch of Iceland, slept at each of the hotels we offer, and experienced all the activities we organize, so you can be sure to get an insider's perspective when you book with us. As adventure lovers, we're always up for a challenge! Let us know what would make your perfect trip and get ready for the vacation of a lifetime. See more
Joined Evaneos: 4 years ago
Agency operating for: 32 years
Based in: Reykjavik, Iceland
Languages spoken: French, English, German, Italian
Why was this local agency selected by Evaneos?
  • The agency has over 30 years of experience organizing tailor-made tours around Iceland
  • The agents cater to every wish and every budget, matching and surpassing clients' expectations
  • The agents have been everywhere in Iceland, stayed at all the hotels, and experienced the activities
See our selection criteria for local agencies

Meet their team

Meet the friendly specialists at Gunnar’s agency.

Find out more about Gunnar’s local agency

Seljalansfoss in Iceland

Find out more about Gunnar’s local agency

Find out more about Gunnar’s local agency
Seljalansfoss in Iceland
 I never tire of hearing people's description of seeing the Northern Lights for the first time, or the glacier lagoon of Jökulsárlón. The beautiful thing about Iceland is that around every bend you find your next great postcard picture. 
Gunnar Thor Palsson
The Vestman Island
Hraunfossar in Iceland
Skaftafell in Iceland
Winter storm in Iceland
The Agents Top Picks
  • The Vestman Island is home to one of the worlds largest puffin colonies, and an active volcano that last erupted in 1973.
  • At the waterfalls of Hraunfossar in Borgarfjordur, a river runs several miles underground that comes bursting out from the edge of a lava field!
  • The area around Skaftafell in Vatnajökull National Park. In the summer you have the purple of the lupin plant with a backdrop of glaciers.
  • I love a good winter storm, as long as everybody is safe. The nature and weather play a big part of life in Iceland.

Local-made trips: A better way to travel

Jokarlsson in Iceland
We work with small local businesses rather than internationally-run providers
Whenever possible, we work with family-owned and small businesses to support local communities and keep more money in the Icelandic economy.

Traveler reviews

440 reviews
Local agent
Trip itinerary
On-site welcome
Guide(s) and driver(s)
Travel documents
Accommodations
Transport
Value for money
Sort by:
Date added (newest to oldest)
Filter:
  • AB
    AB
    January 12, 2020
    Best parts:
    Blue lagoon was very special so was the dog sledding, the Glacier hike and local geothermal pool
    Worst parts:
    Northern Lights seem to be a myth the Global warming is slowly turning Icebergs into tiny pieces of ice ( we have bigger icebergs in Hudson river) it was very disappointing to see the tiny ' Icebergs' and the waterfalls I should have probably chosen more extreme activities in order to have more memorable trip.
    Summary:
    iceland is a nice destination.... for older people For me, doesn't worth the money spent My local agent Patricia, was great, Very accommodating, worked 24/7, (american style )went out of her way to m...iceland is a nice destination.... for older people For me, doesn't worth the money spent My local agent Patricia, was great, Very accommodating, worked 24/7, (american style )went out of her way to make arrangements and changes caused by the weather conditionsSee more
    Patrizia
    Agency's response
    Patrizia
    Hi Alla, I wanted to thank you for the kind and appreciative words you wrote in the review about the effort I put in your trip. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed the activities I booked for...Hi Alla, I wanted to thank you for the kind and appreciative words you wrote in the review about the effort I put in your trip. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed the activities I booked for you; I am sure that if we had had more than 13 days to plan the trip, I would have had more time to put together the exciting trip you were looking for. Unfortunately it snowed and rained a lot during your stay in Iceland , which is the reason why you were not able to see the northern lights; even if the solar activity had been very high, the cloudy sky would have prevented you from seeing the aurora. But look at it this way: the bad weather allowed you to do the dog sledding on snow, instead of on dry-land! Your personal travel agent, PatriziaSee more
    Evaneos' response
    Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!

  • Cricket
    Cricket
    January 4, 2020
    Best parts:
    Our Agent, Gunnar, did an amazing job of personalizing our travel for us. It was the perfect complement to our interests and Iceland wish list. Our hotel was fantastic, the service was impressive and both tours we took were the right amount of time and activity. It far exceeded our expectations!
    Worst parts:
    Our trip started off a bit rocky with our car service forgetting to pick us up from the airport. That made me a bit nervous about the rest of the itinerary. We did the ************* yacht experience on NYE and I was disappointed in the price for what we received. I had to sort out how to get there and back on a busy night like NYE (sorted out quickly though when I called *******yachts for assistance). While the fireworks from the bay were beyond amazing, on board was lack lustre with no snacks and everything from the bar - including water - was a fee. Didn't feel like it was worth the price point. Also, the northern lights tour never happened - cancelled 2 nights in a row. Because we were there around the holiday, many stores were closed so we did not get to experience everything we wanted from the local fare. We did get to see the lights on our own with a bit of patience and a northern lights phone app!
    Summary:
    We landed and immediately hit the***************. While I had suits packed separately, I didn't pack shoes and since we were a bit jet lagged and delayed because of the car service mix-up, we didn't e...We landed and immediately hit the***************. While I had suits packed separately, I didn't pack shoes and since we were a bit jet lagged and delayed because of the car service mix-up, we didn't enjoy it as much as we could have. The massage was great as an add-on to the experience. ************* Hotel was awesome, so accommodating, clean, and welcoming. Our 2 tours, The ************* and ***************t were fantastic. LOVED our glacier hike and every spot we hit. The tour guides were amazing, knowledgeable and very patient. We were traveling with an 81 year old and a 10 year old and both end of the spectrums were covered. Also very much enjoyed lunch at the greenhouse. We strolled around the City and had a great time just absorbing all the City had to offer. I have been recommending this trip and Evaneos to my friends and family!See more
    Gunnar
    Agency's response
    Gunnar
    Hi Dawn and a very happy new year to you as well :) Thank you very much for your kind words and positive feedback. I really appreciate it and all feedback helps us grow and improve. I’m so pleased to ...Hi Dawn and a very happy new year to you as well :) Thank you very much for your kind words and positive feedback. I really appreciate it and all feedback helps us grow and improve. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guided tours and it was pleasure to both young and old. I’m however very sorry to hear about the rocky start and I’ve spoken with my transport partner and it was an unfortunate case of human error and forgetfulness but I’m pleased to see that he could sort out an alternative for you. Also for the NYE yacht tour, Its great that you could enjoy the fireworks show, but I will discuss the tour offerings with this new partner of ours. Thank you again for choosing Evaneos and Planet Iceland, and it was my pleasure to work with you on your holiday. I hope you’ll consider Iceland for a visit again one day, perhaps in the summer months, and I’d be happy to assist you :) Bestu kveðjur/Best regards Gunnar Þór Pálsson Sales & OperationsSee more
    Evaneos' response
    Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!